South Korea’s FC Seoul to replace Atletico Madrid in HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens Draw

FC Seoul

FC Seoul will become the first team from South Korea to participate in the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens after replacing defending champions Atletico Madrid in the draw for the Main Tournament.

Spain’s Atletico beat England’s West Ham United 3-2 after extra-time in the 2015 final to win the title on their HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens debut, but the La Liga side have now confirmed they are now unable to make the trip to Hong Kong Football Club at the end of May.

And following confirmation from Atletico, tournament organisers quickly moved to add five-time South Korean champions FC Seoul to the line-up which already includes current Premier League pacesetters Leicester City, five-time HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens champions Aston Villa, former winners Newcastle United, last year’s runners-up West Ham and Stoke City, as well as Japan’s Kashima Antlers and New Zealand’s Wellington Phoenix.

Source: Lagardere Sports

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top