HKPL: Strong signs for 10-team league

According to – usually well informed – Oriental Daily, it looks like the Hong Kong Premier League will eventually move on to the long anticipated 10-team format next season! Following the struggle of some clubs to secure the necessary funding for the top flight, the HKFA seems willing to approve Wong Tai Sin’s appeal and suspend their relegation to stay in the Premier League. That means, together with freshly promoted Tai Po FC, the club roster for next season would feature four district teams: Yuen Long, Southern District, Wong Tai Sin, and Tai Po. Each round would  consist of 5 fixtures, making it very likely that the Sapling Cup will be scrapped in return (no tears shed for that one).
While it is unlikely that we see Guangzhou R&F fielding a development team next season, the idea has not been entirely shelved. In fact, with more preparation time it is said that the scenario could eventually become reality by 2017/18.

Tentative club list for 2016/17 Hong Kong Premier League season

South China
Southern District
Pegasus FC
Dreams Metro Gallery
Yuen Long
Tai Po
Wong Tai Sin

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top