HK Team

HK to host EAFF Qualifier after Taiwan pull out

It appears that Hong Kong will replace Taiwan as the host of the EAFF qualifying round, scheduled to take place from November 6th to 14th. 4 teams will face each other in a group format – Hong Kong, North Korea, Chinese Taipei, Guam – with the winner advancing to the final 4-team tournament in 2017, where they would meet China, Japan, and South Korea.

Although Taiwan has been confirmed as a host earlier this year, it now turns out that the FA was not able to secure an appropriate venue.

A delegation from the EAFF will arrive in Hong Kong this week to discuss the hosting of the tournament. Hopefully the HKFA can issue a final confirmation soon after.

After the disappointing cancellation of the Turkmenistan game, this is excellent news for local football fans, as it means they will be able to enjoy 3 more competitive home games this year, that will for sure draw a big crowd.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top