Domestic Cups

FA Cup draw announced, lower divisions excluded

The HKFA announced the draw for the 42nd edition of the FA Cup. South China has won this long-standing cup competition 10 times, while Seiko and Eastern have won 6 and 4 times respectively. Last year Pegasus claimed the title after defeating Yuen Long in penalties.

This year, all 11 teams of the Hong Kong Premier League will compete for the championship. However, the semi-finalists of last year, including Pegasus, Southern, Rangers and Yuen Long, are seeded and automatically advance to the quarter-finals. The remaining teams (except for Eastern) will start with a preliminary round, which will take place between December 17th and 20th. The final will be held at the Mongkok Stadium in May next year. Tickets for the 1st round and quarter-finals are currently priced at HK$ 80 (HK$ 30 for students / seniors).

Surprisingly, teams from Hong Kong’s 1st, 2nd and 3rd divisions will be excluded from the FA Cup this year and participate in a separate competition, named FA Cup Junior Division.

The new sponsor for this year’s FA Cup is Swiss-made watch brand Codex. The champions will receive prize money of HK$ 100,000 while the 1st runners up will receive  HK$ 40,000. The MVP of the competition – elected by the media – will be awarded HK$ 10,000.


Round 1:
2016-12-17 – Tai Po vs South China – Sham Shui Po Sports Ground at 14:30
2016-12-18 – Glory Sky vs R&F – Sham Shui Po Sports Ground at 14:30
2016-12-20 – HKFC vs Kitchee – Siu Sai Wan Sports Ground at 20:00

Quarter Finals:
2017-04-15 – Yuen Long vs Eastern – Sham Shui Po Sports Ground at 14:30
2017-04-15 – Rangers vs (Tai Po / South China) – Mong Kok Stadium at 17:30
2017-04-16 – Southern vs (Glory Sky / R&F) – Sham Shui Po Sports Ground at 14:30
2017-04-16 – Pegasus vs (HKFC / Kitchee) – Mong Kok Stadium at 17:30

Semi Finals:
2017-04-29 – Mong Kok Stadium at 15:00
2017-04-30 – Mong Kok Stadium at 15:00

2017-05-14 – Mong Kok Stadium at 15:00


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top